About Us



Our History

There has been an athletics club associated with the University of Manchester since 1865 when Manchester competed in an annual athletics competition with Leeds and Liverpool Universities. This formed the basis for the annual Christie Cup varsity which still stands today. The athletics club was officially formed in 1920 with the cross country club gaining separate status in 1924. The women formed their own team in 1925 and later joined with the men in 1981 when women were first admitted into the Athletic Union at Manchester. These days we pride ourselves on including everyone and believe this holds big testament to our many successes.


Our social alter-ego came to life in the 1970s with the aid of Bruce Green and became our main form of representation for the cross country club at races everywhere. Here our members can be heard chanting at our main rivals Leeds doss  (doss toss!) whilst wearing our favourite colour orange. Our most important event of the year is the Isle of Man Easter Festival when our members enjoy “beer and athletics in balance”. Alehouse embodies everything in the spirit of running and beyond and is here to make sure everyone has a good time. 


We’re proud to have produced numerous international athletes of the year but we’d especially like to mention the running legend that is Ron Hill. He was the second man ever to break 2.10 in the marathon and has the longest streak of consecutive days of running, running every day for 52 years and 39 days. He held world records for 10 miles, 15 miles and 25 km. 

At the Enschede Marathon in 1975